top of page

The perfect little pick me up

If you find yourself going for another diet coke, coke, coffee, tea, or caffeinated beverage late in the afternoon due to be worn down, tired, or in a thinking slump. Take a break and try some of these simple heart openers/back bends to pick you up.

Sitting in at the front of your chair, as you have done previously, roll your shoulders up to your ears and then slide your shoulder blades down your back. Now gentle arch your back, opening your collar bones and shoulders and letting your chest gently lift to the sky. Hold this for 10 breaths, or as many as you can, to perk you up. Alternatively, try this standing with your feet hip distance apart, hips over your heels, your shoulders over your hips, and your ears over your shoulders.

Need a bit more, you can do simple cat / cows by alternating the heart opening back bend with a gentle crunch forward. Alternate, breathing in as you arch your back and breathing out as you gently roll forward.

I know in my workday I often need a break and a bit of energy. I try to limit myself to 2 cups of tea when I'm in the office. These little tricks help perk me up in the afternoon or give me a little burst of energy before a meeting where I need to present.

-Desk Dwelling Yogi

Search By Tags

Connect

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page