top of page

Meditation - Day 2

Yesterday I tried a walking mediation. My goal is still 10 minutes a day.

I grabbed my iPhone and wandered off to the parking lot. I'm lucky here, there are trees on the edge of the parking lot and it is fairly quiet so I was able to set my iPhone alarm and wander for 10 minutes, focusing on being mindful and truly experiencing the walk.

My experience today: It was fairly easy to walk and be present. I was able to focus on my breathing and my steps, as well as the feel off the concrete under my feet, the temperature outside (boy was it muggy), and the sun (occasionally) on my skin.

I didn't notice the same decrease in my heart rate. I did notice a decrease in my breathing rate even though I was moving. I had a general sense of calming but it wasn't as drastic as a seated meditation.

Lessons learned: For now I'm going to stick to seated mediation, or try mediating lying down. I'm still exploring which benefits me the most and after I've mastered that, I will try other things.

-Desk Dwelling Yogi

Search By Tags

Connect

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page