top of page

Meditation - Day 4

Yesterday was a laying meditation in my yoga space. Again, I meditated after getting my steps in for the day and after I finished working.

This time I chose to try a laying meditation. I got comfortable in Savasana and I made all 10 minutes of my goal!

My experience today: I had some issue with thoughts running through my mind, however I simply acknowledged I was having a thought and allowed it to move on. I tried not to dwell on it, even if it was relevant, like "how am I going to write about this in my blog". I focused on my breathing, again counting the top of my inhalation and the bottom of my inhalation as one breath. I was keenly aware of the temperature and humidity and of the thoughts running in my head. This time I did lose count, I made it to somewhere in the 40s and realized, ooops. So I started over and on my 9th breath, my timer went off. Thankfully this time I had left it in the other room so it wasn't so jarring.

Very consistently I am seeing a decrease in rate of breath and in my heart rate. Also, as consistently I am very calm after meditating. I went to do the groceries after, and nothing really seemed to bug me (and the grocery store usually bugs me for some reason!).

Lessons learned: This was my first time laying down, I think I prefer a seated position. I'm more easily able to breath deeply while seated. As this was later in the day, the calm seemed to stay with me longer and again, I slept great last night.

-Desk Dwelling Yogi

Search By Tags

Connect

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page