top of page

Meditation - Day 8

Oooops, it was bound to happen. I was trying to avoid it by scheduling the meditation into my calendar and set reminders, but that didn’t work Tuesday. Between work chaos, and getting ready for pool, and making dinner, and going to pool, I completely forgot to meditate.

That’s OK. I’ll pick it back up tonight.

I the interim, let’s explore why I have chosen to meditate. I am an extremely Type A person, those who know me are probably chuckling right now. Over the past few years with the help of yoga, I have chilled a little bit, however I have more chilling that I need to do. It is OK to be driven, and full of desire for success, however it is how you let that affect you that really matters. I get stressed, I mean really stressed, to the point of tears and angry outbursts when things get to much. I am keenly aware of that flaw and want to correct it.

In my yoga studies I have definitely felt a change in me with the moving meditation that is a yoga practice. I craved more though, I want more centering and more calm and I cannot, despite every desire, do yoga every day. Because of that, and because of my research on meditation and the benefits of even a 10 minute practice a day, I chose to add meditation to my routine.

Mistakes happen, you miss a day. The nice thing is, you learn to be non-judgmental through both yoga and meditation. I’m not beating myself up over it, I’m exploring how to not do that again and how to move forward without judging myself. Today – I will meditate. Maybe I will try 15 minutes to make up for missing yesterday.

I do enjoy the centering and calm that I feel after meditation, and I desire the long term benefits I’ve read about, therefore I will continue.

-Desk Dwelling Yogi

Search By Tags

Connect

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page