top of page

Meditation - Day 10

I got home at 7:30pm last night, after getting to the office before 7am. I needed to finish my 10k steps for the day, so I shared my horrific day with my lovely hubby, walked on the treadmill and then headed into the spare bedroom to meditate. My hubby summed it up when he said "this meditation thing can be stressful" as I was trying figure out how to fit it all in. I reminded him of a meme I've seen, I'm not sure who said it but the gist of it is you should meditate at least 10 minutes every day, and when you have no time, you should meditate for an hour.

My experience today: I grabbed a pillow from the guest bed and sat down. I didn't set a timer this time, I now know about 60 inhalations/exhalations is 10 minutes. I started in half lotus with my right foot on top. That was very uncomfortable as my hips were very tight from sitting all day and then walking. That's OK, I told myself 25 inhalations in half lotus right foot on top and then I switched to 25 inhalations with my right foot on top.

Other than the distraction of the hip being annoying, I was able to focus on my breaths (about 3 minutes in). I finished my last 10 breaths in an easy cross legged position. I definitely felt the day wash away. I was feeling so much calmer and more at ease that I chose to do another 20 breaths in reclining child's pose.

Lessons learned: While it is hard to find the time, mentally, to do the 10 minutes, I am definitely reaping the rewards. I can feel the day leave me when I meditate and I slept great again last night. This experiment is going well.

-Desk Dwelling Yogi

Search By Tags

Connect

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page