top of page

How is the "Desk Dwelling Yogi" doing without a Corp Desk Job?

Today is 6 months since the first Monday of my life where I woke up and no one told me what to do, I had no place I had to be, no plans, and it felt great. It still feels great but it is still odd I have to admit.


I came up with the name Desk Dwelling Yogi because yoga has helped me immensely with all the aches, pains, stressors associated with being a desk dweller; sitting at a desk (or conference room table) for hours and hours and hours on end and dealing with people and problems and projects.


When I began practicing yoga the biggest physical change I noticed was in my right shoulder, an issue I'd struggled with for many years caused by too much use of a mouse / keyboard (repetitive motion injuries suck). Over time I found that another area where yoga helped me deeply was dealing, in the moment, with was the stress of the daily grind and the bull that comes with the 9 to 5 gig and dealing with people (important people if you ask them). On top of that, it helped quiet my monkey mind… and heavens knows I needed that as I am an over thinker, over analyzer, and over preparer.


It has been 6 months since I left Corporate America after nearly 30 years working "9 to 5" behind a desk. Can I still be the Desk Dwelling Yogi without a corporate gig? I think I can. One thing I learned, and have harnessed from that world, is the power of a daily routine. While my daily routine has changed, I still keep hours each morning for "office hours". A big difference, however, is I now truly enjoy my time behind the desk. Lesson planning, themes for class, financial management (personal and business), marketing, networking, editing videos, and the list goes on. I look forward to it each day and it brings be peace instead of stress.


That said, I am still sitting a lot, even outside of my office hours so I'm still very familiar with the tolls of sitting on the human body and I have to work hard to combat them. Are you familiar with the aches/pains/mental tolls of being a desk dweller? If so, come try out a live, virtual, class. See what yoga can do for you.

Search By Tags

Connect

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page