top of page

Reflections on leaving the 9 to 5

On February 19, 2021 I logged off my work computer for what (I hope) is the last time. I've been thinking about stepping away from the grind for quite some time and had even set a goal when I started yoga teacher training in 2015 that I would exit corporate America in 5 years. I graduated teacher training in December of 2015 and started teaching in January of 2016. Five years would be January 2021.


Frankly, I didn't actively work towards my goal other than save, save, save, save (and invest, invest, invest) from my corporate work which I've been doing diligently my entire adult life (thank you Mom for teaching me to save!!). Just under a year ago I had conversations with my financial planner and my tax expert and it looked feasible. That said, I didn't actually think I would do it. I knew that I could make it work financially, I just needed the chutzpah to actually do it. I wasn't sure how I would introduce myself to people, I was so used to a corporate title defining me. Would I say I was retired? Would I say I was a yoga teacher? What on earth would I say when people asked me what I did?


Somewhere towards the end of 2020 I knew I needed to do it and planned to leave in April 2021. I accelerated that plan when I found out about some changes coming in my job that I didn't want to be part of. I could make another whole post on leadership worrying about what person X wanted, and what person Y wanted, but never asking me what I wanted in the whole situation and so I was going to get dumped on - but there is no point; that is simply how 9 to 5s work in the US.


So I'm out! It has been over a month and I've rested I've completed one house project (there are a LOT more of those); I've read; I've started my 300 hour Yoga Teacher Training in earnest; and I'm happier/less stressed than I ever have been. That said, I still don't know how to respond when people ask what I do - right now I'm saying I'm semi retired (whatever that means).


My whole journey began with a yoga class so many years ago; now I want to share what I love with people like me: The Desk Dwellers, the Jazzercisers (Zumbaers/Runners), the Stiff from Sitting/Over Exercising, and anyone who wants to get in touch with their body and their mind and their consciousness. It is just that, a journey and I hope you join me. You may be surprised what you learn about yourself, or what you accomplish.


-Cyndi the Desk Dwelling Yogi



Search By Tags

Connect

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page