top of page

What is it like taking a virtual class with me?

This is a long post, because I put a lot into my teaching, so hopefully this will give you an idea of what it is like to take my virtual class.


Before I get into the typical class layout and structure let me tell you a little bit more about what drives me to do this and what I enjoy. I love teaching beginners and people who think you need to be flexible to do yoga. You do NOT need to be flexible to do yoga – you will become more flexible mentally and physically, over time; but it is not a requirement to start. Different bodies are why I incorporate props and offer options and progressions of poses, so that there is something for everyone.


I love getting to know my students, what their goals are, and what is working (or not working) for them. I also love feedback; have you found a new way to modify a pose or found a new way to transition into a shape – let me know! I’m not the be all end all and I’m definitely not perfect so any and all suggestions are welcome. Through our practice we grow together.


Me? I make mistakes, I “fall out” of balance poses, I mix my left and right up, I forget the names of anatomical parts at times which can lead to giggles (both mine and yours). When teaching I am myself, authentic, and I believe it comes across. I offer both verbal cues and I practice with you so both visual and audio learners get the information they seek.


Logistically, I open the class 10 minutes before we start so that we can sort out any tech glitches well in advance. I also like to chat/text/email with my students beforehand so they can let me know how they are feeling or if there is something that would like special attention that day (e.g. tight hips, tech neck, or tired quads). I try to incorporate those needs into class. At the end of class I also stay online for a few minutes in case any questions came up.


Class is broken down into “sections” so that we have a consistent rhythm to look forward to, even if the specific poses are different each class. Additionally, I have a theme for each class that I weave throughout the practice. We start class with centering, taking a few minutes to observe where we are and what we need, perhaps setting an intention (more about intentions in a different post). We then move through gentle shapes to warm out bodies up. Then we progress into our more powerful poses, typically standing and moving from one shape to another. Then it is time to move to the floor and have longer held shapes, sometimes sitting, sometimes reclining, sometimes both. All classes end with Savasana which is held for a few minutes to allow you time to incorporate anything that came up during class. We then come to a seated position to take a moment to observe any changes in our body and thank one another and ourselves.


In that simple structure I offer cues about alignment of your body that may help you experience the shape. I use poses that progress naturally from one to another so that we find what suits our body on any given day and so that you can chose the level of intensity in a shape that you want. I offer the option to stay in one shape if the next does not feel good in your body. I also use props (don’t worry, you have everyday objects that sub for all the props I use – see the “Practice with me” section of my website) to make certain shapes more accessible to a broader range of bodies. I keep it slow and offer a few moments during transitions to make sure you have time to get where you’re going.


During class I offer you the opportunity to combine movement and breath, if that feels good to you (some days it will and some days it won’t and that is OK). I actively encourage you to listen to your body and yourself as you are your best teacher. I offer the opportunity to stop and notice what you are feeling in each shape and at times I’ll share with you what I’m feeling too.


Most important to me is that I offer you the opportunity to learn more about your breath, your mind, your body, and yourself.


All that in a 45 minute Lunch Express Class or a 60 minute Evening Flow Class which is streamed live. It is simultaneously recorded and emailed out after class so that you can take it (or retake it) anytime within the next 7 days that fits your schedule – Bloopers and all!


If you have questions that I haven’t answered here feel free to drop me an email. If this sounds like something that is interesting to you, I offer you the opportunity to try a class for free. Drop me an email at deskdwellingyogi@gmail.com or find me on Facebook @deskdwellingyogi and I’ll send you a link so that you can try a class on me.


-The Desk Dwelling Yogi

Search By Tags

Connect

  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page